PB&J Sandwich

For this assignment I had to have someone choose a bowl, a plate and a utensil from the kitchen without knowing what I needed it for. Then I choose a number; 1-5 from a hat, to decide what task I had to complete with the tools given to me. I was given a dinner plate, a cereal bowl and a fork and I had to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

This same idea can be brought into the classroom, by having students use different tools and technologies to accomplish tasks that were once familiar, but brought into a different light. We need to teach students how to use the tools and what to do with them in many different ways. There isn’t one way of doing something with one kind of tool and we should be teaching this idea. Otherwise, we are teaching students to give up when they don’t have the right tools, knowledge or technologies. Instead they would be able to innovate using the tools they are given. I was able to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich using tools that I would never use normally, but I was able to figure it out and accomplish the task.

Leave a Reply

